The orchestra is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, incorporated in the state of Utah. We are able to put on great concerts each year because of continuous support from city and state governments, local businesses, individual donors, and dedicated volunteers. Thanks for your support!

We appreciate the major financial or in-kind donations we’ve received from:

Utah Division of Arts and Museums National Endowment for the Arts
XMission Google
Bank of American Fork Salem City


If you like what we do and would like to contribute, here are some ways you can do so:

  • Join the orchestra
  • Make an online donation
  • Ask your employer if it has a gift matching program
  • Give a percentage of your everyday online purchases via Giving Assistant or Amazon Smile
  • Volunteer to help with events, advertising, or administration
  • Encourage your business or employer to contribute its services
  • Donate used items that we could use, like good-quality percussion instruments or orchestra sheet music

To get in touch about any of these, email .

Board of Directors

The orchestra is managed by an all-volunteer board of directors. Current board members are:

  • Betty Herbert, President
  • Laurisa Christofferson, Vice President
  • Dan Smith, Secretary
  • Windy Shaffer, Treasurer
  • Kim Butler
  • Sherrie Dunford
  • Chelsea Stamm

Previous board members, officers, and volunteers have also been instrumental in making the orchestra successful. Former presidents include:

  • Carolyn Sorensen, 2006-2013
  • Liz Graden, 2013
  • Janice Jones, 2013-2014


Special thanks to the volunteer musicians who donate hundreds of hours of rehearsal and practice time each season. Many, listed below, have served for four years or more:

  • Heather Allred*, Cello
  • Michelle Berube*, Violin
  • Sarah Blair*, Violin
  • Kerry Burnham, Bass
  • Kimberly Butler*, Viola
  • Seth Call, Violin
  • Joye Cannell, Violin
  • David Christofferson*, Trumpet
  • Tifani Clark*, Violin
  • Russell Dastrop, Trumpet
  • Crystal DeGraw*, Viola
  • Lynelle Haas, Flute & Piccolo
  • Jerry Hadlock, Trumpet
  • Matt Hardy*, Trombone
  • Ron Hathcock*, Bass Clarinet
  • Betty Herbert*, Viola
  • David Hill, Trombone
  • Mahdi Hoseinyzad, Violin
  • Mary Jex, Cello
  • Amber Jones*, Flute
  • Catherine Jungheim, Violin
  • Peggy Sue Kerlin*, Violin
  • Daniel Lundell, Violin
  • Jodie Mantilla, Oboe
  • Kay Mendenhall, Clarinet
  • Diane Miller*, Cello
  • Hilarie Orman, Viola
  • Denali Roper*, Bassoon
  • Rebecca Rumfield*, Violin
  • Dan Smith*, Clarinet
  • Maudie Smith*, Flute & Piccolo
  • Carolyn Sorensen, Violin
  • Gloria Strauss-Wallace, Violin
  • Leslie Wilson, Clarinet
  • Benjamin Winkler, Conductor
  • Ali Williams, Violin

* Indicates current members